Argument out of range error on compilation

Beta Testing discussion on mikroBasic PRO for dsPIC30/33 and PIC24.
Post Reply
Author
Message
bcdaus
Posts: 59
Joined: 17 Aug 2007 11:26

Argument out of range error on compilation

#1 Post by bcdaus » 17 Dec 2009 13:57

I am trying to compile a file written in dsPic Basic and modified to run in Pro.

After some battles with libraries, I got it to compile, but now I get an argument out of range error.

What does this mean ??

Running beta 1.95 on a Windows 7 machine with Admin rights. I realise there are a bunch of other error messages about type conversion and things not being used, but I can live with Hints and Warnings while I try to get some stats on how much smaller the code base is when compiled with the new version.


Bill

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

0 1 mBDsPic.exe -DBG -pP24FJ32GA002 -MSF -Y -DL -O11111114 -fo32 -N"E:\mydocs\bc hw\RS2DMX v2\Firmware\pro\pro v11\dev11_PRO.mbpds" -SP"C:\Program Files\Mikroelektronika\mikroBasic PRO for dsPIC\defs\" -SP"C:\Program Files\Mikroelektronika\mikroBasic PRO for dsPIC\uses\" -SP"E:\mydocs\bc hw\RS2DMX v2\Firmware\pro\pro v11\" "__Lib_Math.mcl" "__Lib_MathDouble.mcl" "__Lib_System.mcl" "__Lib_Delays.mcl" "__Lib_String.mcl" "__Lib_Conversions.mcl" "__Lib_Trigon.mcl" "__Lib_I2C_12_p24_p33.mcl" "__Lib_UART_12_p24_p33.mcl" "dual_irq_usart.mcl" "RS2DMX_DEV11.mbas"
0 132 Compilation Started E:\mydocs\bc hw\RS2DMX v2\Firmware\pro\pro v11\RS2DMX_DEV11.mbas
1 1015 Hint: Compiling unit "E:\mydocs\bc hw\RS2DMX v2\Firmware\pro\pro v11\RS2DMX_DEV11.mbas" RS2DMX_DEV11.mbas
263 1022 Hint: interrupt handler (DMXTransmit) RS2DMX_DEV11.mbas
385 1016 Warning: Source size (5) does not match destination size (3) RS2DMX_DEV11.mbas
394 1009 Warning: Implicit typecast performed from "integral" to "real" RS2DMX_DEV11.mbas
394 1009 Warning: Implicit typecast performed from "real" to "integral" RS2DMX_DEV11.mbas
785 1022 Hint: interrupt handler (Fade_Time_Int) RS2DMX_DEV11.mbas
1012 1016 Warning: Source size (5) does not match destination size (3) RS2DMX_DEV11.mbas
1021 1009 Warning: Implicit typecast performed from "integral" to "real" RS2DMX_DEV11.mbas
1021 1009 Warning: Implicit typecast performed from "real" to "integral" RS2DMX_DEV11.mbas
1208 1022 Hint: interrupt handler (Serial_Read_Buffer_Int) RS2DMX_DEV11.mbas
1426 1016 Warning: Source size (1) does not match destination size (20) RS2DMX_DEV11.mbas
1426 1020 Warning: 1 elements copied RS2DMX_DEV11.mbas
146 1001 Hint: Variable "channel" has been declared, but not used RS2DMX_DEV11.mbas
340 1001 Hint: Variable "chanSTR" has been declared, but not used RS2DMX_DEV11.mbas
341 1001 Hint: Variable "lvlSTR" has been declared, but not used RS2DMX_DEV11.mbas
771 1001 Hint: Variable "channel" has been declared, but not used RS2DMX_DEV11.mbas
778 1001 Hint: Variable "channel" has been declared, but not used RS2DMX_DEV11.mbas
778 1001 Hint: Variable "value" has been declared, but not used RS2DMX_DEV11.mbas
795 1001 Hint: Variable "read_location" has been declared, but not used RS2DMX_DEV11.mbas
797 1001 Hint: Variable "out_string5" has been declared, but not used RS2DMX_DEV11.mbas
1154 1011 Hint: Variable "debug" has been eliminated by optimizer RS2DMX_DEV11.mbas
1403 1011 Hint: Variable "debug" has been eliminated by optimizer RS2DMX_DEV11.mbas
1737 1010 Hint: Unit "RS2DMX_DEV11.mbas" has been recompiled RS2DMX_DEV11.mbas
0 133 Compiled Successfully E:\mydocs\bc hw\RS2DMX v2\Firmware\pro\pro v11\RS2DMX_DEV11.mbas
0 138 All files Compiled in 3525 ms
0 304 argument out of range argument out of range
0 304 argument out of range argument out of range
0 452 Unsuccessful linking 'dev11_PRO.mbpds' Unsuccessful linking 'dev11_PRO.mbpds'
0 102 Finished (with errors): 17 Dec 2009, 23:48:52 dev11_PRO.mbpds

janni
Posts: 5373
Joined: 18 Feb 2006 13:17
Contact:

#2 Post by janni » 17 Dec 2009 14:52

bcdaus wrote:now I get an argument out of range error
It's a beta, so there may be some errors that we, users, should find. Maybe you spotted something new. Please try to reduce your code to bare minimum that still shows the error and post it here.

BTW, one of the already fixed errors that could give this message is connected with use of string literals, like

Code: Select all

txt:=txt+'abc';
Check if this isn't the problem.

User avatar
anikolic
mikroElektronika team
Posts: 1775
Joined: 17 Aug 2009 16:51
Location: Belgrade
Contact:

#3 Post by anikolic » 18 Dec 2009 08:44

Hi,
bcdaus, could you please open the support ticket at http://www.mikroe.com/en/support/ and attach ZIPPED demonstration project which can be built, so our developers could take a look at your code and figure out what's going on, and correct the possible compiler issues. This will benefit all users of the final release, and we would be very grateful if you respond quickly.

Thank you.

Best regards,
Aleksandar
Web Department Manager

bcdaus
Posts: 59
Joined: 17 Aug 2007 11:26

#4 Post by bcdaus » 21 Dec 2009 04:42

Hi Aleksander,
I have opened the ticket as requested.

Bill.

User avatar
anikolic
mikroElektronika team
Posts: 1775
Joined: 17 Aug 2009 16:51
Location: Belgrade
Contact:

#5 Post by anikolic » 21 Dec 2009 11:35

Hi,
Thank you very much for reporting this. Our developers have analyzed the problem and found the solution for this issue. This will be corrected for the final release.

Thank you for your support.

Best regards,
Aleksandar
Web Department Manager

bcdaus
Posts: 59
Joined: 17 Aug 2007 11:26

#6 Post by bcdaus » 22 Dec 2009 03:02

Aleksandar,
Do I take this to mean there will be no more Beta releases before the actual release, and that we should see the release version this year ??

With Thanks
Bill.

User avatar
anikolic
mikroElektronika team
Posts: 1775
Joined: 17 Aug 2009 16:51
Location: Belgrade
Contact:

#7 Post by anikolic » 22 Dec 2009 11:19

Yes bcdaus,
We are expecting the official release by the end of December. If no major bug is detected, and for now everything seems to be going as planned.

Best regards,
Aleksandar
Web Department Manager

bcdaus
Posts: 59
Joined: 17 Aug 2007 11:26

#8 Post by bcdaus » 01 Jan 2010 06:05

Hi Aleksandar,

I have the same error message after uninstalling the beta, installing and licensing the v2 release.

Any pointers ?

bill

User avatar
srdjan
mikroElektronika team
Posts: 1552
Joined: 28 Dec 2005 12:47
Location: Serbia

#9 Post by srdjan » 04 Jan 2010 15:00

bcdaus wrote:Hi Aleksandar,

I have the same error message after uninstalling the beta, installing and licensing the v2 release.

Any pointers ?

bill
Hello Bill,

Somehow we have missed to deal with your bug report
for the final release :(

We are sending you new cmd line .exe file including this fix to your e-mail provided here,
along with our sincere apologies for the inconvenience we have caused.

Once again thank you for your bug report and
Thank you for understanding.

Post Reply

Return to “mikroBasic PRO for dsPIC30/33 and PIC24 Beta Testing”