LCD On EasyAVR5

General discussion on mikroBasic for AVR.
Post Reply
Author
Message
TOKN
Posts: 13
Joined: 27 Nov 2007 21:24

LCD On EasyAVR5

#1 Post by TOKN » 15 Dec 2007 16:00

I have purchased an additional GLCD and LCD module. The GLCD module works OK. BUT I cannot get the LCD module to work.

FIRST I don't know how to install it exactly. The documentation delivered with the EasyAVR5 board is for the Easy AVR 4!!!!! board. Can also not be downloaded. So what pins do we have to use on the board ????

Best case I only get a few "blocks" on my LCD ...

Thanks for helping me out !!!

Tony

zuran
Posts: 29
Joined: 19 Oct 2007 08:15
Location: Belgium

#2 Post by zuran » 15 Dec 2007 18:06

hoi, here we are again,
yes there is a lot changed with the easy avr board.
but not difficult to find, all is marked

they use now PORT A for the whole LCD
look at the print for detail

Code: Select all

Lcd_Init(PORTA, 3, 2, PORTA, LCD_HI_NIBBLE)
change this and all examples will work

regards zuran

TOKN
Posts: 13
Joined: 27 Nov 2007 21:24

RE: LCD On EasyAVR5

#3 Post by TOKN » 16 Dec 2007 10:46

Thank You !!!!

Do you also now what PINS the LCD should connect to ???

Tony

zuran
Posts: 29
Joined: 19 Oct 2007 08:15
Location: Belgium

#4 Post by zuran » 16 Dec 2007 14:44

The pins that the LCD uses are marked on the board

PA2 and PA3 for the control
PA5,6,7,8 for data

so for port A pin 0 and 1 are still free for uses

cedrick53
Posts: 1
Joined: 18 Dec 2007 01:22
Location: Belgium

#5 Post by cedrick53 » 18 Dec 2007 01:26

The documentation for AVR5 is not correct ( = AVR4)
for GLCD it works
for LCD i use the following settings:

Lcd_Init(PORTA, 3, 2, PORTA, LCD_hi_NIBBLE

then it works.

MrChips
Posts: 39
Joined: 12 Dec 2006 13:59

#6 Post by MrChips » 12 Jan 2008 10:24

Hi Tokn

EASYAVR4
Lcd_Init(PORTD, 6, 4, PORTA, LCD_HI_NIBBLE)

EASYAVR5
Lcd_Init(PORTA, 3, 2, PORTA, LCD_hi_NIBBLE**

And so where this lcd INITiation line exist's in your own or the sample source code must match the ** line for your easyavr5 board.

Does this now function ,or is the lcd faulty as you state in your other post ?.


MrChips :wink:
If you cant help ,then you cant help it

TOKN
Posts: 13
Joined: 27 Nov 2007 21:24

#7 Post by TOKN » 12 Jan 2008 12:04

Hi MrChips,

The LCD is faulty .... I purchased a new one and now everything works fine !!!

Thanks for your help !!!!!

Tony

MrChips
Posts: 39
Joined: 12 Dec 2006 13:59

#8 Post by MrChips » 12 Jan 2008 13:32

So glad to hear you made progress :D

MrChips 8)

now come on mikro replace his broken lcd :!: ,perhaps a nice rtc will do :wink:
If you cant help ,then you cant help it

TOKN
Posts: 13
Joined: 27 Nov 2007 21:24

RE

#9 Post by TOKN » 13 Jan 2008 09:55

Yes, come on Mikoroe !!!! :D

Thanks for helping me !!!!!!!!!!! Do you happen to know where to find a good bootloader for ATMEGA16 8/16 MHZ that allows me to reflash in circuit through RS232 and that I can flash in the ATMEGA using the Mikroe AVRFLASH tool ?

Thanks again & Kind Regards !

Tony

Post Reply

Return to “mikroBasic for AVR General”