Too Much Abstraction?? Can we deploy libraries anymore?

Fully featured PIC compilers available on Windows, Linux, and macOS.
Author

Too Much Abstraction?? Can we deploy libraries anymore?

#1 Post by cubelogic_io » 19 Sep 2020 14:52

I have bought and used mikroE products since the inception of your company. I use them in real product design because, like most of your customers, I am not a professional embedded software developer, though I am a company owner and a successful product designer. I only break out the mikroE board when I am ready to develop the code for my products. In the past I would use and deploy your libraries, after testing them, as they and the supplied example code got me to my solution quickly while keeping me at flying low at the hardware level while I developed my deployable code using a Click or a peripheral breadboard with the and EasyPIC devboard.

I have bought Necto Studio and spent the last few days trying to see if I could use the examples, as I did in the past, to help develop my next product. It appears that the mikroSDK and its examples really only benefits hobbiest who will never move off of the development board in their basement or back bedroom and mikroE (initially anyway) to quickly deploy code and examples across your complete ecoSystem of dev board architectures. I develop mainly in PIC and any one product that most develop will only operate on one architecture, i.e. we are not developing apps that have to run on IOS and Andriod. So why would I want you to abstract me from the hardware? We are embedded developers and people learning should stay learning at the lowest level the hardware level, as mikroE use to provide us.

I have read the entire mikoSDK document and found no answers there that debunk my concerns.

I could be misinformed and if I am could we be shown an example like Click Pressure 7 board example by using mikroSDK without using the mikroBus (which abstract us from the hardware).