Multiple Topics (Sorry In Advance)

mikroC, mikroBasic and mikroPascal PRO for Microchip’s 32-bit PIC MCUs
Author

Multiple Topics (Sorry In Advance)

#1 Post by ckelley » 13 Sep 2019 02:56

Let me preface this with the same disclaimer that I have added to all of the posts I have made on this forum, I am new to both PIC32 and the MikroElektronika MikroPascal compiler. I am using the following:
  • EasyPIC Fusion v7 Pro
  • MikroPascal Compiler
  • A quadrature AB encoder
Okay for the for the sake of simplification I am going to ask the following summarized questions:

In my pursuit of using the VTFT, quadrature AB encoder I ran into the following quirks / pitfalls.
  1. How do I go about correcting the timing scale for the generic Delay functions (Delay_ms, Delay_us, etc...). I noticed that the timing scale was off when casually using the Delay_ms(X) function. I am aware that for the timer interrupt there is a calculator for the the TMR1 register values to correct against different clock frequencies. Do I need to do anything in particular to do this same thing for the built-in library delay functions?
  2. I downloaded a package from LibStock in the hopes to have starting point when using the quadrature AB encoder. I found the following code:

Code: Select all

unit Rotary_Encoder;
    // interface

var Rotary_Encoder_A : sbit; external; sfr; // to be defined in the using program
        Rotary_Encoder_B : sbit; external; sfr; // to be defined in the using program

// Rotary encoder output: //
        Rotary_Direction: byte; // output result, to be reset to zero by the using program
    {  0: no rotation
       1: left rotation
       2: right rotation
    }

Procedure Init_Rotary_Encoder;  // To be called once before calling Check_Rotary_Encoder
    procedure Check_Rotary_Encoder; // To be called every 1 millisecond. The result is in variable Rotary_Direction, see above

implementation

var Rotary_State : byte;
    { 0: both lines are 0
      1: both lines are 1