Timing, clock ....

General discussion on mikroBasic for dsPIC30/33 and PIC24.
Author

Timing, clock ....

#1 Post by louis4sun » 13 Aug 2009 17:45

Hello
I am new to dsPIC communauty and I am on my learning curve.
I have the dsPICPro4 dev. hardware + mikroBasic from mikroe

MCU is the stock dsPIC30F6014-PT + Xt(?) M10.000A8D component

After several examples tested and re-edited for my understanding ..
I have written a little program in MikroBasic to lear about time delays for different statements.
T1CON = $8000 ' for 1/1 Prescaler (or other prescalers)
I am using two successive calls
Time0 = TMR1
Statements, Delays or loops .... or trigonometric functions
Time1 = TMR1
Display : Time1- Time0 on the LCD 4 bits of dsPICPro4

Questions:
1) When I display "Clock_kHz", longint is 14464 , is it normal ?
2) Is it possible to change FOSC register bits to play with ? in mikroBasic ?
3) Is there inside some document the number of clocks taken for different functions (cos, sin, acos, atan2, log ....) after compiling in MikroBasic ?
4) what is the minimum time necessary to go to a Timer Interrupt routine (on TMR1 and PR1) and to return to the main ?

Regards
Louis

p.erasmus

#2 Post by p.erasmus » 16 Aug 2009 16:08

Using Timers will teach you nothing about the cycles any statments need to excecute, to understand this you have to analyse the asm code
and have a vary good understanding of asm and the controller
It also depens highly on the type of data you put through the statement

The closes you can get to the real senario is by using the simulator and the stop wacth to get a time were Time / Tcy = number of cycles used by statement .
In general knowing these type of technical detail about the compiler helps you as progrmmer nothing as you can not change it well you can but then you need to write your own asm files
to do a cetrain statement which make no sense because then you can actually write the whole aplication code in asm you do not need the compiler then.