RE: Creating a INA219 library for mikroC

Discuss with MikroElektronika software developers about current library development.
Author

RE: Creating a INA219 library for mikroC

#1 Post by cxshermansg » 10 Mar 2018 09:59

Hi guys, I am currently starting out on a project that I think might be able to lead somewhere purposeful some day. I have a project that requires me to think outside the box and to make use of various components from various makers/companies. In one of the portions of the project, I have worked up the need to interface a PIC18F26K20 with an INA219 breakout module by Adafruit.

As most of us are aware, the Adafruit INA219 has been created to be compatible with Arduino-supported development boards. So, I have been working with Arduino for a few years, knowing how to use the INA219 library has been like driving a car, I never had the reason or need to understand what happens underneath the hood when it comes to reading and writing those registers, reading values and so on.

But now, I have a need to build this custom integration between the PIC18F26K20 using mikroC and I am trying to crack my brains on how to establish the communication between the INA219 + my PIC on the EasyPIC v7. i am looking for any geeks or nerds who have a good idea how to adapt the INA219 library over to mikroC.

In the efforts of creating something like this, I intend to share the project within the "Examples" section of the mikroC environment as well. I like to contribute what I have learned and done with everyone within the community as well. I am pretty sure some people might find the application useful as well.

(Below) I am putting the library files side by side, hoping to figure out how to implement the read/writing of registers and getting the readings using I2C1_XX()
https://i.imgur.com/qvVfTwn.png <-- Sorry, high res image, so I attached as links

(Below) I am also going to put the library/code example under the Examples folder of mikroC.