can i use micro SD card with memory more than 2GB ?

General discussion on mikroC PRO for PIC32.
Author
Message
nikhil.sane
Posts: 27
Joined: 27 Jun 2016 11:19

can i use micro SD card with memory more than 2GB ?

#1 Post by nikhil.sane » 21 Jan 2019 05:21

Dear Sir,
I am using PIC32MX460512L microcontroller in my Project, and using 2GB micro SD card in which i store the Resource file. But nowadays 2GB memory card is not readily available . so i used 8GB card(micro SDHC card) to store the resource file. But i get black screen when i power on the controller .
I think that 8GB card is not supported. How can i use micro SD card with memory more than 2 GB in the controller ?

thanks
Nikhil Sane

User avatar
jovana.medakovic
mikroElektronika team
Posts: 986
Joined: 18 Dec 2018 10:36

Re: can i use micro SD card with memory more than 2GB ?

#2 Post by jovana.medakovic » 21 Jan 2019 16:47

Hello,

FAT16 requires micro SD card with max 2GB, but if you have with 8GB you can change this size to 2GB.

You can use Disk Management:
https://www.lifewire.com/how-to-open-di ... nt-2626080
and change size on this way:
https://www.addictivetips.com/windows-t ... indows-10/

Kind regards,
Jovana

nikhil.sane
Posts: 27
Joined: 27 Jun 2016 11:19

Re: can i use micro SD card with memory more than 2GB ?

#3 Post by nikhil.sane » 22 Jan 2019 05:32

Hello,
Thanks for providing the information, i will try at my end and update you.
Thanks
Rgds
Nikhil Sane

User avatar
jovana.medakovic
mikroElektronika team
Posts: 986
Joined: 18 Dec 2018 10:36

Re: can i use micro SD card with memory more than 2GB ?

#4 Post by jovana.medakovic » 22 Jan 2019 10:48

Hello,

You're welcome.
If you have additional questions, feel free to ask.

Kind regards,
Jovana

nikhil.sane
Posts: 27
Joined: 27 Jun 2016 11:19

Re: can i use micro SD card with memory more than 2GB ?

#5 Post by nikhil.sane » 24 Jan 2019 12:49

Dear Jovana,
I was not able to do the Shrink Volume on my PC, so the IT Engineer, did the "Shrink Volume" using the command Prompt. He reduced the size from 8GB to 2GB. After which i loaded the Resource file in the SD card ,and used it in the Controller. but still i get Blank ( Dark Screen) .
Please kindly suggest

thanks
Rgds
Nikhil Sane

User avatar
jovana.medakovic
mikroElektronika team
Posts: 986
Joined: 18 Dec 2018 10:36

Re: can i use micro SD card with memory more than 2GB ?

#6 Post by jovana.medakovic » 24 Jan 2019 17:27

Hello,

Did you format your card to FAT16 (FAT)?
Can you zip and send me your project for inspection?

Kind regards,
Jovana

nikhil.sane
Posts: 27
Joined: 27 Jun 2016 11:19

Re: can i use micro SD card with memory more than 2GB ?

#7 Post by nikhil.sane » 25 Jan 2019 05:03

Dear Jovana,
The micro SD card is formatted to FAT, i will check with the IT engineer, if he can format it to FAT 16. I attach my code for your inspection

Thanks
Rgds
Nikhil Sane
Attachments
EL Analyzer Code.rar
(1.67 MiB) Downloaded 118 times

User avatar
jovana.medakovic
mikroElektronika team
Posts: 986
Joined: 18 Dec 2018 10:36

Re: can i use micro SD card with memory more than 2GB ?

#8 Post by jovana.medakovic » 25 Jan 2019 17:23

Hi,

Can you send a picture of your display?

If you have mikroMedia with black frame TFT display you should use this init function:
TFT_Init_ILI9341_8bit(320, 240);

and if you have with the transparent frame you should use:
TFT_Init(320, 240);

Kind regards,
Jovana

nikhil.sane
Posts: 27
Joined: 27 Jun 2016 11:19

Re: can i use micro SD card with memory more than 2GB ?

#9 Post by nikhil.sane » 29 Jan 2019 09:43

Hello,
Please find attached the image of the Display controller which i am using , i think it is with black frame, please kindly have look and suggest.
in driver.c file i have this function void InitializeTouchPanel() which has TFT_Init_ILI9341_8bit(320, 240); . Please kindly suggest ,after having a look at the attachment.
thanks
Rgds
Nikhil Sane
Attachments
micro sd card problem details.rar
(4.14 MiB) Downloaded 118 times

User avatar
jovana.medakovic
mikroElektronika team
Posts: 986
Joined: 18 Dec 2018 10:36

Re: can i use micro SD card with memory more than 2GB ?

#10 Post by jovana.medakovic » 29 Jan 2019 12:51

Hi,

Yes, it's a black frame, so you need to use TFT_Init_ILI9341_8bit(320, 240);

Have you ever been able to use this mikroMMB successfully?
In the attachment, you can find the .hex file with a simple example. Try to load this .hex file.

Kind regards,
Jovana
Attachments
Example.zip
(44.09 KiB) Downloaded 120 times

nikhil.sane
Posts: 27
Joined: 27 Jun 2016 11:19

Re: can i use micro SD card with memory more than 2GB ?

#11 Post by nikhil.sane » 31 Jan 2019 05:03

Hello,
I downloaded the hex file on the controller and i am able to get calculator image on the screen, (refer attached image). As mentioned earlier, i have TFT_Init_ILI9341_8bit(320, 240); function in my Driver.c file.

i have been using the mikro MMB successfully,without any problem, just my concern is about the SD card memory size. As 2GB is not available these days.
Please kindly suggest

Thanks
Rgds
Nikhil Sane
Attachments
calculator_image.doc
(4.15 MiB) Downloaded 131 times

nikhil.sane
Posts: 27
Joined: 27 Jun 2016 11:19

Re: can i use micro SD card with memory more than 2GB ?

#12 Post by nikhil.sane » 05 Feb 2019 04:17

Hello,
Please kindly inform me , if you have any updates from your side to address this query.
Thanks
Rgds
Nikhil Sane

User avatar
jovana.medakovic
mikroElektronika team
Posts: 986
Joined: 18 Dec 2018 10:36

Re: can i use micro SD card with memory more than 2GB ?

#13 Post by jovana.medakovic » 06 Feb 2019 09:48

Hi,

I apologize for the delayed response.

There is a problem in the library where the SD cards formatted on Windows 10 won't work correctly.
That problem will be solved in the next update. Until then, in the attachment, you can find the library which you need to copy in the Uses folder which is located in the compiler's installation folder.

Kind regards,
Jovana
Attachments
library.zip
(32.29 KiB) Downloaded 120 times

nikhil.sane
Posts: 27
Joined: 27 Jun 2016 11:19

Re: can i use micro SD card with memory more than 2GB ?

#14 Post by nikhil.sane » 06 Feb 2019 12:36

Hello,
As per the instructions i copied the attached Library file in the Uses folder , and when i started to compile, i got the error unresolved extern _FillZeros( please see attachment).
I have this query that if i use the Library file ( provided by you ) in the uses folder, then will i be able to use the 8GB memory card . Please kindly reply.

thanks
Rgds
Nikhil Sane
Attachments
Fill Zero error.doc
(226.5 KiB) Downloaded 121 times

User avatar
jovana.medakovic
mikroElektronika team
Posts: 986
Joined: 18 Dec 2018 10:36

Re: can i use micro SD card with memory more than 2GB ?

#15 Post by jovana.medakovic » 06 Feb 2019 12:53

Hi,

Before you copy the library which I sent you, you need to delete this old library (replace it):
\Mikroelektronika\mikroC PRO for PIC32\Uses

With this library, you can format sd card on Windows 10 (format with FAT/FAT16), but you need to use 2GB sd card.
Can you tell me which Windows you are using?

Kind regards,
Jovana

Post Reply

Return to “mikroC PRO for PIC32 General”