Heeelp getting started!!!

General discussion on Visual TFT Software.
Author
Message
iamgbs
Posts: 49
Joined: 23 Apr 2014 00:18

Heeelp getting started!!!

#1 Post by iamgbs » 22 Jul 2020 04:19

Hi everyone,

I have tried unsuccessfully for many months to get my first VTFT project to run.

My initial problems were more to do with the MCU and RAM (now solved) than actual VTFT. After months of fixing 1 error, then another would arise, on & on, in frustration, I started from ground zero (again).

I figured I am missing a basic point somewhere in this software.

All I did was create a project with 2 screens:
Screen1 - has a single Button. Event code when pressed is to go to Screen2
Screen2 is blank.

My confusion: How/why do I get warnings like:
104 1506 Implicit conversion of pointer to int MyProject_driver.c
335 1508 Implicit conversion of int to ptr MyProject_driver.c

I didn't add any code, or do anything other than Build.

Is this going to stop the project working?
What am I doing/not doing to get these warnings?

I found a tutorial from MegaHurts, but it didn't really shine a light for me. Thanks anyway, Robert.

Attached is the zip file of the whole project. I named it LastTry as I think I may have to give this techno-stuff up if I can't succeed, and take up a hobby like underwater basket weaving or something less stressful!

Very painful as I just ordered $300 in displays/parts!!

Hope some patient guru can help me!
LastTry.7z
(238.02 KiB) Downloaded 61 times

User avatar
stefan.filipovic
mikroElektronika team
Posts: 1135
Joined: 18 Dec 2018 10:30

Re: Heeelp getting started!!!

#2 Post by stefan.filipovic » 22 Jul 2020 10:26

Hi,

I noticed a couple of errors in your project - first of all, you didn't set the PPSLOCK bit to can be set and cleared repeatedly in the Edit Project window which is a must when you use PPS_Mapping function instead of PPS_Mapping_NoLock.
Another issue is the VTFT pattern where you didn't configure properly the TFT parameters, Resources, Init Code, ...
So, could you please tell me which display with FT812 graphics controller do you use? I'll check if I can find a working example for you.

Kind regards,
Stefan Filipović

iamgbs
Posts: 49
Joined: 23 Apr 2014 00:18

Re: Heeelp getting started!!!

#3 Post by iamgbs » 23 Jul 2020 05:39

Thank you so much Stefan.

OK, I set the PPSLOCK so it can be set and cleared repeatedly.

I didn't know that I needed to set those other parameters, and what to set them to! So an example would be a GREAT help!!

The display I am using (awaiting delivery) is Riverdi 5" RVT50AQFFWR00.

Thanks again.

User avatar
stefan.filipovic
mikroElektronika team
Posts: 1135
Joined: 18 Dec 2018 10:30

Re: Heeelp getting started!!!

#4 Post by stefan.filipovic » 24 Jul 2020 16:31

Hi,

Please find a simple example and a picture of my connection in the attachment.

Kind regards,
Attachments
Riverdi_5_res_27K42.zip
(1.71 MiB) Downloaded 82 times
Stefan Filipović

iamgbs
Posts: 49
Joined: 23 Apr 2014 00:18

Re: Heeelp getting started!!!

#5 Post by iamgbs » 25 Jul 2020 02:46

Thanks Stefan.

I will go through the example in detail.

Much appreciated!

iamgbs
Posts: 49
Joined: 23 Apr 2014 00:18

Re: Heeelp getting started!!!

#6 Post by iamgbs » 19 Sep 2020 03:12

Hi Stefan,

I finally received my Riverdi Displays last week! Seems like Fedex wanted to take them for a world tour before delivering them to me!

Thanks for your example code and image. I connected up and ran exactly as your example - I changed nothing. I am using a 28-pin chip as shown in your image.

However, unlike your example, my display is not lighting up at all, and the RA0 LED (on development board) is ON, then when I press Reset, both RA0 and RA5 are ON.

I can't exactly see your connections on the click board (I am not using a click board), but I figure I am not connecting right. Based on the project settings and PPS_Mapping, can you confirm that they are:

RA0 = RST
RA5 = CS = Pin 6 on Riverdi
RC3 = SCK = Pin 3 on Riverdi
RC4 = MISO = Pin 4 on Riverdi
RC5 = MOSI = Pin 5 on Riverdi
Vdd = 3.3V = Pin 1 on Riverdi
Gnd = Pin 2 on Riverdi
Vdd = 3.3V = BLVDD on Pins 17&18 on Riverdi
Gnd = Pin 19 on Riverdi

Programming verified OK.

Thanks you.

iamgbs
Posts: 49
Joined: 23 Apr 2014 00:18

Re: Heeelp getting started!!!

#7 Post by iamgbs » 23 Sep 2020 03:15

Update

I inserted code to flash an led:

1) In the main loop - Works fine, so it is cycling through the Init VTFT stack.
2) When I press the display for each screen - I can't see anything on the screen and pressing each does not flash my inserted LEDs.

So, again, I must have connected the Riverdi display wrongly. But I have checked and double checked!

Feedback or help please?

Thanks.

User avatar
stefan.filipovic
mikroElektronika team
Posts: 1135
Joined: 18 Dec 2018 10:30

Re: Heeelp getting started!!!

#8 Post by stefan.filipovic » 24 Sep 2020 13:40

Hi,

You can use the RiBUS click boards and EasyPIC v8 board schematics as a reference.
https://download.mikroe.com/documents/a ... c-v100.pdf
https://download.mikroe.com/documents/f ... ematic.pdf
Which development board do you use? How do you connect the display to the board without RiBUS click board?

Kind regards,
Stefan Filipović

iamgbs
Posts: 49
Joined: 23 Apr 2014 00:18

Re: Heeelp getting started!!!

#9 Post by iamgbs » 28 Sep 2020 03:10

Hi Stefan,

From what I can see, the click boards (Riverdi Click and RiBus click contain no active components - they are just break-out boards.

So, on my EasyPic v7, I just connect the display to an FPC adapter (similar to a Click Board) with pinouts as last email. Image attached.
PHOTO_20200928_120217.jpg
PHOTO_20200928_120217.jpg (3.3 MiB) Viewed 3210 times
Am I missing something here?

User avatar
stefan.filipovic
mikroElektronika team
Posts: 1135
Joined: 18 Dec 2018 10:30

Re: Heeelp getting started!!!

#10 Post by stefan.filipovic » 28 Sep 2020 14:55

Hi,

Could you attach a picture of the whole board? I do not see in the attached picture how you have connected RST and CS lines.
The project is configured for the RiBUS click board and MIKROBUS2 slot of an EasyPIC v8 development board.

Kind regards,
Stefan Filipović

iamgbs
Posts: 49
Joined: 23 Apr 2014 00:18

Re: Heeelp getting started!!!

#11 Post by iamgbs » 29 Sep 2020 05:20

Thanks for reply.

CS is connected to Mikro-bus-1 pin CS/RE0 (pin 3), to pin 6 on Riverdi. I now moved it to Mikro-bus-2 CS/RA5, no change.

RST is not connected at all to the Riverdi. It is RA0 on the PIC but Mikro-bus is RE1, Mikro-bus 2 is RE2. No PORTE on the PIC.

The Riverdi interface spec does not have RST. Is that INT or PD?

Attaching 2 images.
Attachments
PHOTO_20200929_141244.jpg
PHOTO_20200929_141244.jpg (3.38 MiB) Viewed 3179 times
PHOTO_20200929_135043.jpg
PHOTO_20200929_135043.jpg (3.05 MiB) Viewed 3179 times

User avatar
stefan.filipovic
mikroElektronika team
Posts: 1135
Joined: 18 Dec 2018 10:30

Re: Heeelp getting started!!!

#12 Post by stefan.filipovic » 29 Sep 2020 16:30

Hi,

You need to connect the RST pin as well, yes, it's labeled as RST or PD. Use the RiBUS click schematic as a reference.

So, you should connect the RST pin to RA0 and the CS pin to RA5.

Kind regards,
Stefan Filipović

iamgbs
Posts: 49
Joined: 23 Apr 2014 00:18

Re: Heeelp getting started!!!

#13 Post by iamgbs » 30 Sep 2020 06:23

OK, connected as advised. Still NOTHING.

I note that BLVDD on RiBus is 5V. Riverdi spec is between 2.8V and 5.5V (max). I am using 3.3V (Typ), so that should work.

LEDs indicate the code is cycling OK (I setup RA1 to flash in the main loop), but no display lighting, no touch activity. Looks like there is no power to display. Used another display, same. Changed break-out board and cable - nothing.

All connections are checked and buzzed out from EasyPiv V7 board to Riverdi Display. VDD measured OK at 3.3V. Supply Current limit set at 1A, so plenty of juice available.

I am bewildered! Any ideas?

User avatar
stefan.filipovic
mikroElektronika team
Posts: 1135
Joined: 18 Dec 2018 10:30

Re: Heeelp getting started!!!

#14 Post by stefan.filipovic » 30 Sep 2020 10:12

Hi,

I just noticed in the picture you attached that the jumpers J14 (RA4, RA5) are not set for I/O but OSC. Please move it to the left position and try again (run the project that I've attached without the modifications).

Kind regards,
Stefan Filipović

iamgbs
Posts: 49
Joined: 23 Apr 2014 00:18

Re: Heeelp getting started!!!

#15 Post by iamgbs » 01 Oct 2020 02:54

Thanks for taking another look. I really appreciate your help.

I changed RA4,RA5 jumpers to make I/O instead of OSC. Re-programmed PIC using original example you sent me.

Unfortunately, no change. Display still "dead" even though I am measuring 3.3V Vdd on it between pins 1&2.

I can't understand why even the Backlight does not come on (BLVDD=3.3V). To test it, I connected BL to another supply (common ground with EasyPic V7 board) and BL came on. But, as soon as I switched the power to EPv7 ON, the BL went OFF!

Not a short circuit as supply is drawing only 100mA. According to spec, BL only draws IDD=290mA@BLVDD=3.3V.

I note that RiBus has INT. So, I tried connecting INT to RB0 which only caused RB0 Led to ON. I am guessing that INT is a coded output? Is it used in your example code?

Post Reply

Return to “Visual TFT General”