new Beta release with old problems

Beta Testing discussion on mikroBasic PRO for dsPIC30/33 and PIC24.
Post Reply
Author
Message
p.erasmus
Posts: 3391
Joined: 05 Mar 2009 10:28

new Beta release with old problems

#1 Post by p.erasmus » 31 Aug 2010 20:40

Dear mikroTeam

I am very very disapointed after waiting nearly 3 months of you to find and report the
bug in the CAN library on your support desk !!!
You release a new Beta version and the Problem is still not solved
The CAN Tx work perfectly however it does not Receive any messages

I have reported this 3 months ago on this support ticket BEO-305854,
you asked for projects and code were
this problem is pointed out ,I made 3 different versions of code and projects
for dsPIC and for PIC18 which I supplied to you ,never received an answer from you
other users has reported this problem as well !!!

here
http://www.mikroe.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=101&t=26424

here
http://www.mikroe.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=101&t=26611

It seems that some problems are just ignored and left
what is the sense in releasing a beta if you know that there
are problems not solved or is it a case that not so many
people use the CAN library there for it has no importance

I helped were I can to supply every thing you asked for
to help but why do ask for these projects if you have no intension to
give a feedback on the problem or fixed it

I am really disappointed with this and the same is for the PIC compilers
there is some problems reported since V2.5 and still exisit in V4 beta
such as the code folding problem just to point 1 problem out

No mikro this is not the way you keep on adding cosmetic things in the
IDE I do not need al these fance things, I need the libs to work properly
at the release of PIC V3.5 some people in the Forum pointed to this as well
and we ask to stop adding cosmetic features and solve the problems!!!
We do not code projects with a polished IDE we use the Compiler
to code functions as CAN ,SPI ect
Your developers did not even look or try to fix the CAN you just added new devices and
release Beta 4.0
I am very sad if I think I just ordered today again 800 Euro of mikro Board and componets
from tigal we already ordered for more than 3000 euro this year of mikro stuff and you just dont care
what happens with the compiler , I am a very pacient person but this CAN lib will cause
that our busness relation will end and very soon
We are setting up labs in 3 different locations at the moment and planned are
mikro development boards and compiler but this is makeing me think if we really should go this way
we can not keep on switching between compilers then C30 ,C18 and then again MikroE as every time
there is something in the compiler which is not working
We need not fance things we need the existing libs and feature to work stable

I hope you will solve this very soon or let me know if you have no intension to do so
then we can keep on using C30 or invests in the professional package from Hitech
we are a professional development company we do not use your compilers because they are cheap
money is not the question to us productivity is , we work with projects consisting of development
work for millions of euro !!
I can not wait for you to decide whether you will or will not fix your Library problems
P.Erasmus
Saratov,Russia
--------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
zristic
mikroElektronika team
Posts: 6608
Joined: 03 Aug 2004 12:59
Contact:

Re: new Beta release with old problems

#2 Post by zristic » 01 Sep 2010 09:04

Hi,

We had been working on the problem earlier and, as far as I am informed, there were suggestions given to you to pay attention to string conversion routines. Also, I was told that testing the code you sent is troublesome to us due to specific hardware you used. It all lead to a stall point, for which I do not have an excuse.

I will check where we are at the moment with the whole story and will push the solving of the problem forward.
As it is already on the task list, all it needs is a bit more attention from our side and with your participation I am sure we will fix the issue.

Therefore, all we need is little more patience.
I know that the problem extends for some time, but I assure you that it will be resolved one way or another.

Thank you.

p.erasmus
Posts: 3391
Joined: 05 Mar 2009 10:28

Re: new Beta release with old problems

#3 Post by p.erasmus » 01 Sep 2010 10:08

Hi zristic
Thank you for your answer!!

The String problem you are refering to was a problem in PIC compiler and was solved in the
Beta 4 release this ticket FCB-574296

however the CAN problem is open and I have asked some feed back on the ticket ,nobody has
aswered me on the ticket
just read the Ticket BEO-305854 and I understand that the code is for specific hardware
but that does not change the fact that the Lib should receive messages independant from the
hardware and as i said before the lib Transmit messages perfectly in the ticket is log file print you can see
the Tx msg but the Rx message is never received!!

I am patient however this needs your attention now!!
We use all 4 your compilers and support you as much as we can ,I also have an Director to which I have to explain when
projects get delayed or one time C30 is used an the next time mE is used .
please have an understanding for my problem as well ,I can delay things up to a point and after that my job get in line
which i am not prepaired to give up beacuse of my support to mE .

Regards
Peter
P.Erasmus
Saratov,Russia
--------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
zristic
mikroElektronika team
Posts: 6608
Joined: 03 Aug 2004 12:59
Contact:

Re: new Beta release with old problems

#4 Post by zristic » 01 Sep 2010 10:18

Hi Peter,
You have all our attention.

Thanks for pointing to tickets, it will give me a better picture now.

The issue is going to be resolved.
ZR

p.erasmus
Posts: 3391
Joined: 05 Mar 2009 10:28

Re: new Beta release with old problems

#5 Post by p.erasmus » 01 Sep 2010 10:36

Hi zristic
Thank you very much I am happy once again :D

Regards
Peter
P.Erasmus
Saratov,Russia
--------------------------------------------------------------

p.erasmus
Posts: 3391
Joined: 05 Mar 2009 10:28

Re: new Beta release with old problems

#6 Post by p.erasmus » 01 Sep 2010 19:03

Hi zristic
Below a test code I made today ,everything is working when you configure the dsPIC for Xtended messages
then it receives the STD messages and XTD message ,when i configure the dsPIC for STD messages then
it does not receive any messages !!
I guess the bug is in stetting the message type for the CAN module in the library ,it can not be set up for STD Msg's
the only way I could get it to work is by mixing STD types and XTD types in the configuration
as you will see in the code.
I hope this helps

Code: Select all

dim  Msg_Rcvd as word
dim Can_Init_Flags, Can_Send_Flags, Can_Rcv_Flags,
    Rx_Data_Len,Tx_Data_len  as word
dim Rx_Data as byte[8]
dim Tx_Data as byte[8]
dim Tx_ID, Rx_ID as longint
'*******************************************************************
sub procedure Timer1Int()  iv IVT_ADDR_T1INTERRUPT
  T1IF_bit = 0              ' Clear T1IF
   LATE.B0 = PORTE.B0 Xor 1
end sub
'*******************************************************************
main:
  ADPCFG = 0xFFFF
  TRISE.B0 = 0
  TRISE.B1 = 0
  IPC0   = IPC0 or 0x1000   ' Interrupt priority level = 1
  T1IF_bit = 0              ' Clear T1IF
  T1IE_bit = 1              ' Enable Timer1 interrupts
  T1CON = 0x8030            ' Timer1 ON, internal clock FCY, prescaler 1:256
  '---------------------------------------------------------
  Can_Send_Flags   = _CAN_TX_PRIORITY_0 and
                      _CAN_TX_STD_FRAME and
                      _CAN_TX_NO_RTR_FRAME
  '---------------------------------------------------------
  Can_Init_Flags   = _CAN_CONFIG_SAMPLE_THRICE and
                      _CAN_CONFIG_XTD_MSG and
                      _CAN_CONFIG_DBL_BUFFER_ON and
                      _CAN_CONFIG_MATCH_MSG_TYPE and
                      _CAN_CONFIG_LINE_FILTER_OFF
  '-------------------------------------------------------
  'Baud 500Kb/sec 80Mhz Clock
  'CANCKS bit set Fcan = Fcy
  '-------------------------------------------------------
  CAN1Initialize(1,2,5,3,1,Can_Init_Flags)
  C1CTRL.CANCKS = 1
  '--------------------------------------------------------
  CAN1SetOperationMode(_CAN_MODE_CONFIG,0xFF)
  CAN1SetMask(_CAN_MASK_B1, -1, _CAN_CONFIG_MATCH_MSG_TYPE and
              _CAN_CONFIG_STD_MSG)
  CAN1SetMask(_CAN_MASK_B2, -1, _CAN_CONFIG_MATCH_MSG_TYPE
             and _CAN_CONFIG_STD_MSG)
  CAN1SetFilter(_CAN_FILTER_B1_F1,0x101,_CAN_CONFIG_XTD_MSG)
  CAN1SetFilter(_CAN_FILTER_B1_F2,0x101,_CAN_CONFIG_XTD_MSG)
  CAN1SetFilter(_CAN_FILTER_B2_F1,0x280,_CAN_CONFIG_XTD_MSG)
  CAN1SetFilter(_CAN_FILTER_B2_F2,0x83,_CAN_CONFIG_XTD_MSG)
  CAN1SetFilter(_CAN_FILTER_B2_F3,0x110,_CAN_CONFIG_XTD_MSG)
  CAN1SetFilter(_CAN_FILTER_B2_F4,0x110,_CAN_CONFIG_XTD_MSG)
  CAN1SetOperationMode(_CAN_MODE_NORMAL,0xFF)
  'TRISF.B0 = 1 'CAN Rx Pin
  'TRISF.B1 = 0 'CAN tx Pin
  Msg_Rcvd = 0
'**************************************************************************
while(True)
'-------------------------------------------------------------------------
 'Read the Bus
 '-------------------------------------------------------------------------
  Msg_Rcvd  = CAN1Read(Rx_ID , Rx_Data , Rx_Data_Len, Can_Rcv_Flags)
 if(Msg_Rcvd <> 0) then
     nop
    select case Rx_ID
     case 0x83

     case 0x101
        LATE.B1 = PORTE.B1 Xor 1
     case 0x110
        nop
     case 0x280
    end select
    nop
 end if
    delay_ms(30)
    nop   'use for break point
    Tx_Data[0] = 0xFF
    Tx_Data[1] = 0xFE
    Tx_Data[2] = 0xFB
    Tx_Data[3] = 0
    Tx_Data[4] = 0
    Tx_Data[5] = 0
    Tx_Data[6] = 0
    Tx_Data[7] = 0xAA
    Tx_Data_len  = 8
    Tx_ID = 0x3D0
    CAN1Write(Tx_ID,Tx_Data, Tx_Data_len ,Can_Send_Flags)
wend
end.

Attachments
2.png
2.png (13.29 KiB) Viewed 7576 times
1.png
1.png (18.69 KiB) Viewed 7576 times
P.Erasmus
Saratov,Russia
--------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
zristic
mikroElektronika team
Posts: 6608
Joined: 03 Aug 2004 12:59
Contact:

Re: new Beta release with old problems

#7 Post by zristic » 02 Sep 2010 07:08

Hi Peter,
Is there the possibility that you use ICD for debugging?
ZR

p.erasmus
Posts: 3391
Joined: 05 Mar 2009 10:28

Re: new Beta release with old problems

#8 Post by p.erasmus » 02 Sep 2010 07:18

Hi zristic

Yes I use ICD2 and Coff file ,do you want me to check some register settings ???

Regards
Peter
P.Erasmus
Saratov,Russia
--------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
zristic
mikroElektronika team
Posts: 6608
Joined: 03 Aug 2004 12:59
Contact:

Re: new Beta release with old problems

#9 Post by zristic » 02 Sep 2010 07:39

p.erasmus wrote:Yes I use ICD2 and Coff file ,do you want me to check some register settings ???
No, I have something different in mind, I will let you know soon.

p.erasmus
Posts: 3391
Joined: 05 Mar 2009 10:28

Re: new Beta release with old problems

#10 Post by p.erasmus » 02 Sep 2010 07:47

Ok then :D
P.Erasmus
Saratov,Russia
--------------------------------------------------------------

p.erasmus
Posts: 3391
Joined: 05 Mar 2009 10:28

Re: new Beta release with old problems

#11 Post by p.erasmus » 02 Sep 2010 17:14

Hi zristic / Aleksandar and Team
Thank you for solving the problem the CAN Lib is now working 100%
:D
regards
Peter
P.Erasmus
Saratov,Russia
--------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
anikolic
mikroElektronika team
Posts: 1775
Joined: 17 Aug 2009 16:51
Location: Belgrade
Contact:

Re: new Beta release with old problems

#12 Post by anikolic » 03 Sep 2010 16:23

Hi,

Yes, anyone who is interested in the epilogue of the CAN issue, I want to inform you that problem was located and solved, and changes will affect upcoming release.

Thank you Peter for being so patient and most helpful.

Best regards,
Aleksandar
Web Department Manager

Post Reply

Return to “mikroBasic PRO for dsPIC30/33 and PIC24 Beta Testing”