Page 1 of 1

Simulation problem

Posted: 07 Jun 2010 14:42
by linaaa
Hello everyone,
what I want to make it is to connect my pic 16F876 to an xbee and an RTC DS1307,
When an information is acquired by the xbee and is transferred to the pic, this one has to acquire the date and the hour and transfer all, it means date, hour and information to the PC.
What I tried to make is to connect the xbee by usart (RX, TX) and for the connection with the pc I made it with the soft uart (RB6, RB7).
My program at the level pic has to:
1) Read the data on RX (USART HARD)
2) Acquire the date and the hour
3) Transfer everything to the pc by uart Soft (pin RB6)

It is what I tried to make but the simulation on isis dosen't run correctly..Please help me to find the problem...
Thank you for your answers.
The attachment RTC.zip is no longer available

Re: Simulation problem

Posted: 08 Jun 2010 13:31
by linaaa
No answers?!!!

Re: Simulation problem

Posted: 10 Jun 2010 13:32
by slavisa.zlatanovic
Hi!

There are, on our web site, examples for RTC2 and EasyBee boards.
http://www.mikroe.com/eng/products/view/197/rtc2-board/
http://www.mikroe.com/eng/products/view ... ee3-board/
http://www.mikroe.com/eng/products/view ... bee-board/
Combining these with the examples distributed with the mikroC compiler we're sure
you'll be able to finish your project successfully
(we don't own a xbee module and therefore we can not try to reproduce your problem).

Best regards
Slavisa

Re: Simulation problem

Posted: 10 Jun 2010 19:39
by Acetronics
Hi, Slaviza

I was " on the debugging " for some days ... ( Q. put on an other french forum ... :wink: )

It appears some MkC misunderstandings ...
It appears simulating the RTCs ( DS1307 or PCF 8583 ) with Proteus returns ... 0 for all registers.
It appears Proteus need a powerful machine to simulate this project ... ( My PIII @ 1.3 Ghz is wayyyyyy too slow !!! )

a " real " project with real components aboard my EasyPic5 runs fine ... :mrgreen:

Alain

Re: Simulation problem

Posted: 10 Jun 2010 19:50
by Acetronics
Forgot to correct it in the Header ...

!!! RA2 is used for Soft Uart Tx on the EP5 !!!

Having no Xbee module here ...

I used Hyperterm Rx channel with EP5 software Uart and Tx Channel with EP5 Hardware Usart ... so, it replaces nicely the Xbee card ... :mrgreen:

Alain

Re: Simulation problem

Posted: 11 Jun 2010 12:09
by slavisa.zlatanovic
Hi!
a " real " project with real components aboard my EasyPic5 runs fine ...
That's the proof that the real live in circuit debugging can never be replaced by a software simulation.
If you upgrade to PRO version of mikroC compiler:
http://www.mikroe.com/eng/products/view ... o-for-pic/
you'll be able to generate *.coff file which you can use for debugging purposes in Proteus.

Best regards
Slavisa